Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Advice on type of paint

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2019, 08:37 AM
jfr's 63swc
Racer

Received 44 Likes on 25 Posts

Default Advice on type of paint

First, I have some experience at paint and bodywork - I worked in a car restoration/body shop for a year while I was in college. But, that was 40 years ago. Hence the problem! We only used lacquer back then. I have a '63 driver that I want to do some minor fiberglass repairs on. I can easily handle the fiberglass work (and have even done that much more recently that 40 years!) but do not know what type of paint to use to spot in after the repairs. The car has been repainted (at least once!) in the past before I owned it, so I do not know the history. I tested the existing white paint with lacquer thinner and it did not wrinkle so from what I have read, it is probably not enamel. No paint came off even with rubbing so it is also probably not lacquer. The test for clear coat that I read online is to sand with 600 grit - if white residue, it is clear coat, if color, it is base coat. Since the paint is white to start with, I am not sure how this test will help. I do not know what the paint might be and what I should use after my repairs - that is the advice that I am looking for.

I know getting a perfect match might be difficult, but at this point I just want to be able to drive the car while making these repairs so I do not want to paint the whole car at this time. It is currently a 20 foot driver that I would like to get to a 10 foot driver! Not looking for a show car, I would be afraid to drive it!

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 02-16-2019, 06:04 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Originally Posted by jfr's 63swc
I do not know what the paint might be and what I should use after my repairs - that is the advice that I am looking for.