C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to Keep T-Top Weatherstrip From Sticking?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2008, 04:34 PM
WillEE
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How to Keep T-Top Weatherstrip From Sticking?

Well I'm fairly new to Vette ownership but noticed when I took the T-tops off the weatherstripping really wanted to cling to the car. I was thinking there's gotta be somehting you could coat this with so releases easy. Well - anybody have something they recommend that's proven to work?
Old 04-21-2008, 04:35 PM
Durango_Boy
Team Owner

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

My Step Dad used to clean all the weather stripping with a rubber treatment of some kind when he had sticking problems. I have never personally had the problem so I don't know how much more help I can be.
Old 04-21-2008, 04:44 PM
Ak. Mal
Race Director

Location: Kansas City, MO ...I'd like to go fishing and catch a fishstick. That'd be convenient. - Mitch Hedberg
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Was this the first time you have removed the tops or does it do this every time you remove the tops? It could be they haven't been off for a long time and that caused the rubber to stick to the car. I treat the weatherstripping on all of my cars with Meguire's rubber and vinyl protectant. Actually, it's the only stuff I'll detail the inside of my cars with.
Old 04-21-2008, 05:18 PM
WillEE
Pro

This is first time I removed them - the previous owner had new T-tops put on and likely have been on their for a couple years w/o being removed. Maybe it won't be an issue next time but I'll try the Megires which can only help. Thanks.
Old 04-21-2008, 08:02 PM
DC3
Melting Slicks

Received 353 Likes on 254 Posts