Sponsored by:

Need expert advice please

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2017, 08:53 PM
bbcngineer
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need expert advice please

5 years ago I bought a 72 steel cities gray and black 4 speed convertible in boxes. I rebuilt the motor, tranny, rear end, trailing arms and replaced all the suspension with VBP front and rear. I got the car painted. It runs and drives. I was in the process of installing the interior in my basement when a fire started in my work shop (2 years ago). The car was fine but many of the parts were lost in the fire. The newly painted deck lid, convertible top, and the dash pieces were lost as well as the bumbers. This was never going to be a show car it was always planned to be a driver.

So now I have a painted running, driving car with many missing pieces. I am not a vette expert but could have put it together with the original parts. I believe it is possible to put the car back together but it will be a little more of a challenge without the original parts.

Here is the question. Would it be better to sell this to someone who has the parts and experience to put it together or to finish it myself? I like these cars but they aren't my passion. I was all in on a mechanical restoration. I love motors, trannies and suspension work. I'm not a huge fan of scouring the country for interior parts.,

Anyone know of a complete black interior for sale?

(Selling comments removed)

What do you guys think? Is there another option I haven't considered?
No one was hurt in the fire. The house is rebuilt and we are moved back in.
Kevin

Last edited by vettebuyer6369; 10-23-2017 at 10:47 PM. Reason: Please don’t sell in the General section
Old 10-23-2017, 09:40 PM
Greg
Just another Corvette guy
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,835 Likes on 1,782 Posts

A few pictures of the car might help.
Old 10-23-2017, 10:48 PM
vettebuyer6369
Administrator

Location: About 1100 miles from where I call home. Blue lives matter.