C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

crazy ac compressor

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 07:51 PM
Jrzvetteman
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default crazy ac compressor

I have a 1991 l98 coupe. I recently had the ac converted to r134a. before the conversion it did not work so i have no previous experience with performance. Since i had it converted and filled it is poor performance. air is cool sometimes, and i noticed compressor cycles on and off alot. could this be my problem since freon may not be pressurized?? I cleaned evaporator and condensor with little change in cooling. Im reading between 72-80 on middle vent in 100 degree weather. ANy help would be appreciated because c4s are HOT, especially with glass top
Old 07-26-2011, 08:33 PM
oldalaskaman
Le Mans Master

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

quick cycle usually indicates low freon, you should take it back and ask them to recheck it.
Old 07-26-2011, 10:57 PM
JackDidley
Race Director

Received 229 Likes on 161 Posts

Need to get a pressure gage on it. Should be below 50° at the vent even if its near 100° outside.
Old 07-27-2011, 10:38 AM
engle1147
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

If compressor cycles on and off alot and there is no/low condesnation on the accumulator and vent temps are up then you've got something going on there that isn't correct. Compressor short cycle is usually a condition of low freon levels. You should be able to use a AC manifold gauge to get a better idea of what is going on.