C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

96 hvac

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2016, 12:38 PM
geb@abq
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default 96 hvac

I know that hvac issues have been discussed a gazillion times, and still comes up, as blend door and vacuum issues seem to be endless.

I have been battling issues with my 96 hvac system for several months, and think i have some partial success, notably the blend door. I managed to reshape, grind and reconfigure a Dorman Actuator, and get it to fit, and the blend door will move from hot to cold, as demanded by the C68 automatic climate control.

I removed the Programmer, trimmed the rubber nipples, and eliminated the connector by installing 5 pcs. of rubber vacuum line to each colored hard plastic vacuum line. This worked fine for a few days, then reverted to intermittently blowing out the defrost, then deteriorated until it will only blow out the defrost and floor.

The two hard plastic vacuum lines from the valve at the intake manifold and then disappear into the wiring harness, I understand go to the cruise control and the HVAC Programmer.....Correct? Which is which?? I attach a piece of rubber vacuum line to each one, and can blow or suck on one, but the other is solid.

Tried a vacuum hand pump on the tan and blue lines going to vacuum actuators and neither will hold vacuum ?? I think the tan one goes to the defrost actuator, and is in the default position, allowing air to blow out the defrost vent and floor.

I believe that the orange line goes to the recirc and outside air actuator.

Does anyone have a diagram of the HVAC vacuum lines that they could share with me ?? Think I saw one somewhere, and the black plastic line (source) and orange line intersect on HVAC housing ??