C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Harmonic Balancer

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2017, 04:50 PM
Chris Padden
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Harmonic Balancer

I recently put performance heads and a cam in my 01, my harmonic balancer just started migrating out , shredding my belts and oil loss. My question is , if the cam was installed incorrectly would it cause the balancer to fail? It might be a stupid question, I'm not a mechanic lol
Old 06-19-2017, 06:44 PM
Cutlassmaster
Burning Brakes

Received 107 Likes on 84 Posts

Stock balancer is an issue on the C5's. Is it still the stock balancer? If it is, then it should have been replaced when the work was done.
Chris
Old 06-19-2017, 06:53 PM
zachaeous
Melting Slicks

Received 451 Likes on 376 Posts

Did you install the stock balancer? If you did the oem balancer is know to fail and come apart and the outer part separates from the hub and can walk in or out .

Or did the balancer spin on the crank and migrate out, if so the bolt will have backed out and the balancer spun on the crank nose and moved outwards. I would think this is the greatest probability.

If the latter is true the install could be at fault. There is a special procedure for tightening the balancer bolt and has to be followed by the book.
Old 06-19-2017, 08:19 PM
Chris Padden
Navigator

Originally Posted by Cutlassmaster
Stock balancer is an issue on the C5's. Is it still the stock balancer? If it is, then it should have been replaced when the work was done.
Chris
Yes it was the original with 38k on it, 2k after the head and cam install. Not sure if if came apart or spun off the shaft. I'm gonna put an ATI on it and crank bolt. Anything else I should do for performance while it's torn apart?
Old 06-19-2017, 08:23 PM
Chris Padden
Navigator

Originally Posted by zachaeous