C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

GM Tech 2 alternative

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2017, 05:30 PM
bgspot
Burning Brakes

Received 285 Likes on 159 Posts

Default GM Tech 2 alternative

Good afternoon to all. Hopefully everyone had a Merry Christmas. Recently ran into an issue where i wanted to replace my aftermarket pioneer (didn't like it and much prefer my smart phone) with a stock unit. Found a cheap OEM unit on eBay. After install, i realized that factory head units are tied to the original cars VIN. No problem, i'll pay the dealership to fix the issue. Only problem they outright say they CANNOT guarantee they can fix the locked status of my radio and i'd still have to pay. As an IT/Network technician, i couldn't imagine telling people i can't guarantee i can fix your network or pc problems, but you still owe me full price plus tax.

Enter the VXDIAG VCX Nano. I was looking into clone tech II's for the past couple weeks and stumbled onto this gem. There is very little info on this product, but i still had more faith in this thing and myself more than my own dealership so i took the plunge. For $119 on amazon, i basically have the software version of a tech II device. I was able to unlock my radio in a matter of minutes. Have never used a real or upscale scan tool device so i can't compare but just poking through some of the menus, it looks like i can do anything a tech II can. Kool thing is that the tech2win software runs just fine on my Windows 10 64bit laptop. Would be even cooler with a surface pro or similar tablet. I'm sure there are reasons for owning an actual tech II device over just software, but i wanted to try something different out of curiosity and explore other options for those that want an even cheaper alternative.
Attached Images     
The following 10 users liked this post by bgspot: