C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket tune vs Warranty

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2008, 11:54 AM
RedZR
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Aftermarket tune vs Warranty

I do not mean to beat a dead horse, but I have been awaiting Diablo's release for the 2008 LS3 but after reading this I do not want to risk my warranty over a few more ponies.

http://corvettemechanic.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2066

Dan
Old 04-05-2008, 12:08 PM
DarkMastyr
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yeah I'm totally behind GM on this one. no car should still have its warranty after it's had its ecu mucked around with. yes most people get great tunes, but push the tune a bit too far and that's all it takes to pop the engine.
Old 04-05-2008, 02:43 PM
'06 Quicksilver Z06
Team Owner

Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts

Originally Posted by RedZR
I do not mean to beat a dead horse, but I have been awaiting Diablo's release for the 2008 LS3 but after reading this I do not want to risk my warranty over a few more ponies.

Dan
You are a smart man.

If you don't want to jeopardize your 5 year/100,000 mile powertrain warranty, then stay away from such modifications. Its as simple as that.
Old 04-05-2008, 04:01 PM
SpinMonster
Tech Contributor

Received 178 Likes on 124 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11

I'm still trying to figure out why warranty-leave-it-stock guys hang out in the tech section preaching not doing mods.