C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Force Awakens...

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2017, 10:33 AM
DorianC3
Melting Slicks

Received 354 Likes on 265 Posts
Default The Force Awakens...

Hi All,

a newbie here and I’m talking VERY new. I got my 1969 L46 just last week.

Soo, forensics time; at least a start…

One positive piece of news: my wife and kids dig the car and are arguing about who gets to drive it! My wife actually snuck out to sit in the car and see how it feels. The kids reported that she said it was a very nice car and she looks forward to driving it. As you gear-heads know, this is a BIG deal!

As for the health of the car, it looks all right. But until I have done a compression test and driven it around a bit, I won’t really know what to think. And until it is registered and insured, there is no driving this baby around.

Friday I will be attempting to push the corvette through local DOT (Belgian) tech inspection. That means I need to fix the horn and install a fog light.

At first glance, the car looks overall healthy but there are a ton of small projects.
- horn button not springing back and horn relay is dead
- external rearview mirrors rattle
- entire rinse circuit (lights and windshield) has been disconnected
- neither block nor the heads are correct for a 1969 L46. (They would match a 1972 corvette, however.)
- corner bolt missing on intake manifold… or broken off; there is something plugged in there. BTW, the intake is an original, first generation Edelbrock Torker.
- wiring is odd and hacked (no clutch safety) and a push button start on the side of center console. (It’s neatly done.) Perhaps to bypass the clutch safety?
- no bolts holding steering column to firewall?!?!?!?
- wiper switch not working properly
- wipers bump into the wiper door
- no timing tab